How One Company Worked to Root Out Bias from Performance Reviews

Harvard Business

Assessing performance Gender Race Diversity Talent management Digital ArticleResearchers worked with a law firm to make two simple changes to their process. A year later, they saw dramatic improvements.

Wait, I’m the Boss?!? The Guide for New Managers to Succeed

Skip Prichard

New managers , or those aspiring to manage a team, often are looking for a playbook to help them get started. How do I deal with poor performance? And, let’s face it, seasoned managers often need a refresher on some of the basics. 4 Things Great Managers Do.

Insiders

Sign Up for our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Dreaded Performance Review When Change Hits “Upside the Head” → July 21, 2009 · 1:18 am ↓ Jump to Comments The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths Last week, I wrote a post about “The Dreaded Performance Review”, something that everyone so loves to hate. For People Who design Performance Review Systems Keep the process simple.

3 Biases That Hijack Performance Reviews, and How to Address Them

Harvard Business

The key is how we manage our biases. While biases can affect any of an organization’s talent decisions, they can be especially harmful when it comes to diversity and inclusion efforts. And there is perhaps no setting that shapes careers, salaries, and lives like annual performance evaluations. In a recent performance management summit we ran with over 100 large organizations, 57% of them said they weren’t taking any actions to address bias in performance reviews.

The Dreaded Performance Review | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Failure, the Other “F&# Word The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths → July 13, 2009 · 10:20 pm ↓ Jump to Comments The Dreaded Performance Review I think it is safe to say that the performance review is something that most people love to hate. If you have a performance review story or opinion that you would like to share please do!

The Power of Diversity

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Facing the Blank Wall A Year in Review…and a Hint at What’s Next → December 26, 2010 · 4:00 pm ↓ Jump to Comments The Power of Diversity wanted to write a piece on diversity because there is such an opportunity for leaders to create something wonderful simply by understanding the uniqueness that each person brings to the workplace and what can be created because of it.

The Power of Diversity

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Three Key Elements for Making Change Happen Getting things done – Expect then Inspect → March 6, 2009 · 1:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments The Power of Diversity wanted to write a piece on diversity because there is such an opportunity for leaders to create something wonderful simply by understanding the uniqueness that each person brings to the workplace and what can be created because of it.

Managing a Data Science Team

Harvard Business

Many managers of data science teams become managers because they were great individual contributors and not necessarily because they have the skills or training to lead a team. (I But management is a skill unto itself, and relying on your experience as a successful individual contributor is not enough to ensure that you are able to retain and develop great talent while delivering valuable learnings, products, and outcomes back to the organization. Ragnar Schmuck/Getty Images.

HR Challenges (And Solutions) For 2022

HR Digest

From managing the changing demographics of the workforce to dealing with the rise of artificial intelligence, HR professionals are constantly faced with new challenges. . Embracing the change to foster diversity and upskilling future. Embracing diversity.

Leading in the Wild

Lead Change Blog

New employees hoped to avoid getting a “bad” boss and stayed worried about their pay raises and performance reviews. While the great majority of managers today believe employees exit for more money, research shows only 12% leave for compensation concerns. Champion Diversity. Diversity is more than “does and bucks;” it is an attitude of continual learning and passionate curiosity–the engines of breakthroughs.

Wilde 251

HR Challenges and How to Face Them

HR Digest

From managing the changing demographics of the workforce to dealing with the rise of artificial intelligence, HR professionals are constantly faced with new challenges. Embracing diversity. Diversity is one of the emerging challenges of HRM.

The Ambition Gap

Coaching Tip

The software giant, which has expanded parental leave for both genders and mentorship programs for women , was recently named in a proposed class-action suit alleging managers unfairly passed over women for raises and promotions; Microsoft says it is reviewing the complaint. It exempts new mothers and anyone else off work for at least 16 weeks from being measured against their peers for their performance review that year.

Tips 107

Managing and Leading…Lessons from Gilbert & Sullivan

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Taking Inventory & A Model For Making It Meaningful Message to New Leaders – Bring Your Courage to Work → September 12, 2010 · 9:22 pm ↓ Jump to Comments Managing and Leading…Lessons from Gilbert & Sullivan I watched a movie yesterday called Topsy Turvy. And, they held each member to account for their behaviour and the quality of performance they delivered.

What You Don't Know About Doing Great Work

Leading Blog

But more time doesn’t necessarily lead to better performance. Not only that but how we manage and reward work, and how our culture recognizes hard work. In Great at Work , Hansen reports on a five-year survey of 5,000 managers and employees, including sales reps, lawyers, actuaries, brokers, medical doctors, software programmers, engineers, store managers, plant foremen, nurses and even a Las Vegas casino dealer. The goal isn’t collaboration, but better performance.

Blog 199

Need for Performance and Employee Evaluation

HR Digest

Performance review or employee evaluation is an essential part of giving feedback on performance and determining areas of improvement. Performance evaluations are by their very nature not very comfortable for either the employee or the supervisor.

February 2020 Leadership Development Carnival

Lead Change Blog

Yet many supervisors and managers on the road to becoming valuable and valued leaders fail to do so. Bernd Geropp provided How to become a better manager at work. Bernd shares: “As a manager today, it isn’t enough to just simply focus on results and the financial bottom line. Therefore, I’ll give you my 3 best tips for how to become a better manager.” Randy Conley of Leading with Trust provided Newly Promoted Manager?

Leading a “Mozart”

Lead Change Blog

He was performing advanced piano works before kings at the age of five. As a teenager, Wolfgang Mozart once heard a full opera performed in the Sistine Chapel; he then went home and copied it completely from memory, including the parts played by each instrument in the orchestra. His 200+-year-old music was used in such diverse modern movies as Alien, JFK, Star Trek, A Beautiful Mind, Batman, Out of Africa, The Associate, and Shawshank Redemption.

Ulrich 287

52 Discoveries Leaders Can Implement Quickly

Eric Jacobson

Fascinating, timely, critically useful and immensely relevant is how I describe the book, It’s the Manager. Meet the challenges of managing remote employees, a diverse workforce, gig workers and the rise of artificial intelligence.

52 Powerful Discoveries For Workplace Leaders

Eric Jacobson

It’s called, It’s the Manager. and global workplace tracking, including interviews of employees and managers from 160 counties, interviews with leading economists and roundtable interviews with CHROs (Chief Human Resource Officers) from 300 of the world’s largest organizations. During those, review successes and barriers and align and reset priorities. Leaders need to first recognize that diversity and inclusion are not the same thing.

Power 50

Managing Your Personal Impact …One Boss's Story | You're Not the.

You're Not the Boss of Me

→ April 25, 2010 · 11:55 pm ↓ Jump to Comments Managing Your Personal Impact …One Boss’s Story Once upon a time, there was a Boss who was very sure of himself. I will be conscious of my moods and do my best to manage them in a way that does not negatively affect those around me. 10 Responses to Managing Your Personal Impact …One Boss’s Story Mary Jo Asmus April 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm Very nice story, Gwyn.

Performance evaluation of employees: Important pointers and processes

HR Digest

Performance reviews or employee evaluations are essential in giving feedback and determining areas of improvement and excellence for both the employer and employee. They are a good method to weed out bad performers and inspire others to do better. Writing a review is not easy.

5 Critical Skills You Will Need to Hit the Ground Running After College

Leading Blog

I want diversity of experiences in college that have exercised their brain,” Brown said. People who manage recent college graduates all had the same complaint about their new hires: they’re too impatient about their careers and unrealistic about their roles within a company.

Skills 162

Why Ethics are Essential for a Strong Team Culture

Strategy Driven

Secondly, organizations have diverse teams of individuals that have different perspectives on what “the right thing” is. Incorporate ethics into performance reviews and acknowledge outstanding ethical behavior. Corporate Cultures business management corporate culture Ethics strategydrivenBuilding a team culture that is magnetic or lasts means better productivity, positive engagement, and higher retention.

Using the Vision

You're Not the Boss of Me

…More about Vision Know Thyself – Part I → January 16, 2009 · 8:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments Using the Vision Once you have your simple, clear and honest vision firmly in your mind and heart, it can become a tool for planning business strategy and provide the discipline necessary to avoid unproductive and expensive diversions. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

Covey 40

The Making of Legends

Strategy Driven

I developed the concept of integrating Pop Culture Wisdom with management training and business planning over the last 40 years. I conducted independent performance reviews of many. I served on boards of directors, search committees, awards panels, review boards and task forces for many. There have been books on fundraising and some articles on volunteer management and the business aspects of running non-profit organizations.

3M’s SVP of HR Kristen Ludgate on a Better Way to Attract Top Talent

HR Digest

For example, before launching a new performance review system this year – dubbed Performance Everyday and hinged on our culture elements – we used crowdsourcing and other tools to hear directly from 3Mers about how to best improve our approach. . COURAGE UNDER CHANGE.

7 Tips for Managing Freelancers and Independent Contractors

Harvard Business Review

But the rules and expectations are different when you’re managing a freelancer who isn’t fully employed by your company. Should you give them performance reviews so they know where they stand? Many managers assume that they don’t need to tend to freelancers as much as they do regular employees—and there’s some truth to that, says Dan Pink, author of Free Agent Nation and Drive. Nick Hales, an IT manager at AOMi Ltd based in Reading, U.K.,

Twitter Weekly Highlights for 2011-03-18

Tanveer Naseer

Listening Is Critical in Today’s Multicultural Workplace [link] # leadership #communication # diversity #. RT @ patriciamknight : RT @ TanveerNaseer Coffee House Book Review – “Wikibrands” by Sean Moffitt & Mike Dover bit.ly/dQQ2hS dQQ2hS Great review! #. Want respect as a manager? RT @ WikiOrgCharts @TanveerNaseer ‘s review of “Wikibrands&# celebrates org. Follow @ TanveerNaseer # FF #leadership # management #.

Help Your Employees Be Themselves at Work

Harvard Business Review

How can managers create workplace environments where people feel comfortable being themselves? Research has shown that hiding our true identities can cripple professional performance. This appears to be the case largely because closeted workers suffer anxiety about how colleagues and managers might judge them,” write study authors Sylvia Ann Hewlett and Karen Sumberg, “and expend enormous effort concealing their orientation, which leaves them less energy for actual work.”.

People Skills Are Hard Skills - More Than You Know

Building Personal Strength

It is still common for most managers to refer to people skills as “soft skills,” because they aren’t specifically about the business of the organization. People skills are “hard” skills because in almost every job, they’re crucial to workplace performance. When you try to improve the way a person performs a people skill, the new pattern has to compete with the old, comfortable pattern that’s causing the problems. The difference between a leader and a manager is people skills.

StrategyDriven Welcomes Hank Moore | StrategyDriven

Strategy Driven

He conducts independent performance reviews and Executive Think Tanks nationally… with the result being the companies’ destinies being charted. He has conducted 300+ performance reviews of organizations. He is a mentor to senior management. Additional Information Hank has written numerous articles and several books on a wide range of business and management topics.

The Big Picture of Business: Institutional Reviews Help Public Companies to Learn from the Downturn and Move Forward

Strategy Driven

An Institutional Review is a look at activities that contribute to an organization’s success and well-being. This review is the basis for most elements that will appear in a strategic plan, including the organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats, actions, challenges, teamwork, change management, commitment, future trends and external forces. Management is concerned that resources are not concentrated on important things.

Becoming a leader…Shifting the Balance of Power. | You're Not the.

You're Not the Boss of Me

When I first became a manager, I tried to be friends with everyone. Acquiring a “larger view&# when we first undertake a management position, seems to be the first order of business if we are to bring leadership to the role. It’s especially difficult if the new manager has been promoted from the group and used to be a peer. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

Getting things done – Expect then Inspect | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Power of Diversity Secrets and Blind Spots → March 9, 2009 · 1:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments Getting things done – Expect then Inspect Okay so as leader, you have shared your vision for your company or department with those who work for you. Reply prissyperfection March 10, 2009 at 3:31 pm Yes, the whole performance assessment thing has become something we love to hate.

Why Great Employees Leave “Great Cultures”

Harvard Business

A place to start is by reviewing the behaviors, systems, and practices in place in your company. Every employee I have managed would give up their so-called perks for one thing: clear expectations. Does a manager value face-time more than outcomes? This moves us away from the tendency to hire people who think the same and towards a company built on diversity of backgrounds, perspectives, and ideas that complement culture while also enriching it.

Building Awareness ~ Lessons from the Moon walking Bear | You're.

You're Not the Boss of Me

Building awareness in organizations must be a collective effort with participation from many and diverse people. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

A Year in Review…and a Hint at What's Next

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Power of Diversity When Empathy Leaves the Room → January 2, 2011 · 9:56 pm ↓ Jump to Comments A Year in Review…and a Hint at What’s Next This week, like so many, I’m looking back on the blog posts I have written over the past year, and offer those that resonated most with so many of you who have been good enough to read “You’re Not the Boss of Me”.

21st Century Leadership…Lessons from Julie Payette | You're Not.

You're Not the Boss of Me

Well, according to a number of pretty eminent scholars and teachers , those who will help us navigate through this century’s challenges will only be able to do so if they can effectively manage across borders; collaborate for optimal results; and build strong connections with others, among other things. Back on Earth, the notion of diversity, for many of us, tends to stop at gender or ethnicity. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

To Be A Better Leader

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

Leadership & The Value Of An Inquiring Mind

You're Not the Boss of Me

Share this: 4 Comments Filed under Change Management , communication , Learning Tagged as change leadership , communication , curiosity , Leadership , Seth Godin ← The Practical Gift of Humility Becoming a leader…Shifting the Balance of Power. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

My Next Beginning…A Reflection on Change

You're Not the Boss of Me

Share this: 4 Comments Filed under Change Management , Learning , Uncategorized Tagged as change , change leadership , Self Assessment , Self Knowledge ← Becoming a leader…Shifting the Balance of Power. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Becoming a leader…Shifting the Balance of Power.

The Practical Gift of Humility | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

7 Responses to The Practical Gift of Humility Pingback: Tweets that mention The Practical Gift of Humility « You’re Not the Boss of Me -- Topsy.com Pingback: Ego: The Biggest Threat to Employee Engagement « Morale at Work: The Performance Connection David Bowles July 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm Gwen I really liked this and linked to it in a blog I wrote today on ego and engagement at work: [link] I hope you enjoy it!

Failure, the Other “F” Word | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Workplace Democracy – A Genie in A Bottle The Dreaded Performance Review → July 6, 2009 · 9:36 pm ↓ Jump to Comments Failure, the Other “F&# Word Failure. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.