How One Company Worked to Root Out Bias from Performance Reviews

Harvard Business

Assessing performance Gender Race Diversity Talent management Digital ArticleResearchers worked with a law firm to make two simple changes to their process. A year later, they saw dramatic improvements.

Wait, I’m the Boss?!? The Guide for New Managers to Succeed

Skip Prichard

How do I deal with poor performance? What do most managers get wrong during performance reviews? I believe the #1 thing managers get wrong with performance reviews is that they don’t do them often enough. How does a leader best encourage a diverse workforce?

Insiders

Sign Up for our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Dreaded Performance Review When Change Hits “Upside the Head” → July 21, 2009 · 1:18 am ↓ Jump to Comments The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths Last week, I wrote a post about “The Dreaded Performance Review”, something that everyone so loves to hate. For People Who design Performance Review Systems Keep the process simple.

3 Biases That Hijack Performance Reviews, and How to Address Them

Harvard Business

While biases can affect any of an organization’s talent decisions, they can be especially harmful when it comes to diversity and inclusion efforts. And there is perhaps no setting that shapes careers, salaries, and lives like annual performance evaluations. In a recent performance management summit we ran with over 100 large organizations, 57% of them said they weren’t taking any actions to address bias in performance reviews.

The Dreaded Performance Review | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Failure, the Other “F&# Word The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths → July 13, 2009 · 10:20 pm ↓ Jump to Comments The Dreaded Performance Review I think it is safe to say that the performance review is something that most people love to hate. If you have a performance review story or opinion that you would like to share please do!

The Power of Diversity

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Facing the Blank Wall A Year in Review…and a Hint at What’s Next → December 26, 2010 · 4:00 pm ↓ Jump to Comments The Power of Diversity wanted to write a piece on diversity because there is such an opportunity for leaders to create something wonderful simply by understanding the uniqueness that each person brings to the workplace and what can be created because of it.

The Power of Diversity

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Three Key Elements for Making Change Happen Getting things done – Expect then Inspect → March 6, 2009 · 1:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments The Power of Diversity wanted to write a piece on diversity because there is such an opportunity for leaders to create something wonderful simply by understanding the uniqueness that each person brings to the workplace and what can be created because of it.

The Ambition Gap

Coaching Tip

The software giant, which has expanded parental leave for both genders and mentorship programs for women , was recently named in a proposed class-action suit alleging managers unfairly passed over women for raises and promotions; Microsoft says it is reviewing the complaint. It exempts new mothers and anyone else off work for at least 16 weeks from being measured against their peers for their performance review that year.

eBook 107

What You Don't Know About Doing Great Work

Leading Blog

But more time doesn’t necessarily lead to better performance. The common practice he found among the highest-ranked performers in the study was that they carefully selected which priorities, tasks, meetings, customers, ideas or steps to undertake and which to let go. He found that there were just a few key work practices related to this selectivity that accounted for two-thirds of the variation in performance among our subjects. W HY DO SOME people outperform others?

Performance evaluation of employees: Important pointers and processes

HR Digest

Performance reviews or employee evaluations are essential in giving feedback and determining areas of improvement and excellence for both the employer and employee. They are a good method to weed out bad performers and inspire others to do better. Writing a review is not easy.

Leading a “Mozart”

Lead Change Blog

He was performing advanced piano works before kings at the age of five. As a teenager, Wolfgang Mozart once heard a full opera performed in the Sistine Chapel; he then went home and copied it completely from memory, including the parts played by each instrument in the orchestra. His 200+-year-old music was used in such diverse modern movies as Alien, JFK, Star Trek, A Beautiful Mind, Batman, Out of Africa, The Associate, and Shawshank Redemption.

Ulrich 287

Leading in the Wild

Lead Change Blog

New employees hoped to avoid getting a “bad” boss and stayed worried about their pay raises and performance reviews. Champion Diversity. Diversity is more than “does and bucks;” it is an attitude of continual learning and passionate curiosity–the engines of breakthroughs. A maverick band of rabbits, threatened by the spread of industrial construction near their warren (home), start out on a quest for a new warren and a better society.

Wilde 251

February 2020 Leadership Development Carnival

Lead Change Blog

He recently had a very positive performance review in which he’d voiced his ability to handle greater responsibility. However, just after that review, a coworker in the same type of role received a promotion, only a year from her last one.” Ann Howell of Science of Working contributed Build your Diversity and Inclusion Strategy Today. These six thought starters will help you build a Diversity & Inclusion strategy.”

Why Corporations Have a Talent Problem

N2Growth Blog

We live in time that has moved well beyond competency driven models, yet organizations still primarily use competency-based interviews, competency-based job descriptions, competency-based development, competency-based performance reviews, and competency-based rewards as their framework for doing business. It takes more than paying lip service to a few soft skills on a performance scorecard to get the job done.

52 Discoveries Leaders Can Implement Quickly

Eric Jacobson

Meet the challenges of managing remote employees, a diverse workforce, gig workers and the rise of artificial intelligence. During those, review successes and barriers and align and reset priorities. Leaders need to first recognize that diversity and inclusion are not the same thing.

5 Critical Skills You Will Need to Hit the Ground Running After College

Leading Blog

I want diversity of experiences in college that have exercised their brain,” Brown said. eBay offers classes on managing your personal brand (because graduates usually can’t set goals for themselves), giving an elevator pitch (they often can’t get to their point fast enough), managing your calendar (once again, time management), and performance reviews.

Skills 163

Using the Vision

You're Not the Boss of Me

…More about Vision Know Thyself – Part I → January 16, 2009 · 8:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments Using the Vision Once you have your simple, clear and honest vision firmly in your mind and heart, it can become a tool for planning business strategy and provide the discipline necessary to avoid unproductive and expensive diversions. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

Covey 40

3M’s SVP of HR Kristen Ludgate on a Better Way to Attract Top Talent

HR Digest

For example, before launching a new performance review system this year – dubbed Performance Everyday and hinged on our culture elements – we used crowdsourcing and other tools to hear directly from 3Mers about how to best improve our approach. . COURAGE UNDER CHANGE.

52 Powerful Discoveries For Workplace Leaders

Eric Jacobson

The changing demands of the workforce of what matters most to employees is evolving from (the past to the future) : My Paycheck to My Purpose My Satisfaction to My Development My Boss to My Coach My Annual Review to My Ongoing Conversations My Weaknesses to My Strengths My Job to My Life Have 10- to 30-minute “Check-In” conversations with your employees once or twice a month. During those, review successes and barriers and align and reset priorities.

Power 50

Twitter Weekly Highlights for 2011-03-18

Tanveer Naseer

Listening Is Critical in Today’s Multicultural Workplace [link] # leadership #communication # diversity #. RT @ patriciamknight : RT @ TanveerNaseer Coffee House Book Review – “Wikibrands” by Sean Moffitt & Mike Dover bit.ly/dQQ2hS dQQ2hS Great review! #. RT @ WikiOrgCharts @TanveerNaseer ‘s review of “Wikibrands&# celebrates org. Brand # marketing in social media – Coffee House # Book Review: “Wikibrands&# [link] #.

Why Ethics are Essential for a Strong Team Culture

Strategy Driven

Secondly, organizations have diverse teams of individuals that have different perspectives on what “the right thing” is. Incorporate ethics into performance reviews and acknowledge outstanding ethical behavior. Building a team culture that is magnetic or lasts means better productivity, positive engagement, and higher retention. However, what has been largely overlooked by many business leaders is the essential foundation for a culture that sustains and thrives: Ethics.

Help Your Employees Be Themselves at Work

Harvard Business Review

Research has shown that hiding our true identities can cripple professional performance. Enabling employees to feel comfortable being themselves could unlock dramatic performance gains because they can focus their attention on work, rather than hiding parts of themselves. When corporations talk about “diversity,” a significant chunk of the population tunes out. This tracks the hiring and promotion practices of each partner, across several specific slices of diversity.

StrategyDriven Welcomes Hank Moore | StrategyDriven

Strategy Driven

He conducts independent performance reviews and Executive Think Tanks nationally… with the result being the companies’ destinies being charted. He has conducted 300+ performance reviews of organizations. Register for the complimentary StrategyDriven Newsletter and receive instant access to our Organizational Performance Measures whitepaper series.

Senge 58

People Skills Are Hard Skills - More Than You Know

Building Personal Strength

People skills are “hard” skills because in almost every job, they’re crucial to workplace performance. When you try to improve the way a person performs a people skill, the new pattern has to compete with the old, comfortable pattern that’s causing the problems. All the proponents of people skills fall short of describing the true scope of this element of workplace performance. The difference between a good employee and a stronger, high-performing employee is people skills.

Getting things done – Expect then Inspect | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Power of Diversity Secrets and Blind Spots → March 9, 2009 · 1:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments Getting things done – Expect then Inspect Okay so as leader, you have shared your vision for your company or department with those who work for you. Reply prissyperfection March 10, 2009 at 3:31 pm Yes, the whole performance assessment thing has become something we love to hate.

Building Awareness ~ Lessons from the Moon walking Bear | You're.

You're Not the Boss of Me

Building awareness in organizations must be a collective effort with participation from many and diverse people. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

Film 55

A Year in Review…and a Hint at What's Next

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Power of Diversity When Empathy Leaves the Room → January 2, 2011 · 9:56 pm ↓ Jump to Comments A Year in Review…and a Hint at What’s Next This week, like so many, I’m looking back on the blog posts I have written over the past year, and offer those that resonated most with so many of you who have been good enough to read “You’re Not the Boss of Me”.

The Big Picture of Business: Institutional Reviews Help Public Companies to Learn from the Downturn and Move Forward

Strategy Driven

An Institutional Review is a look at activities that contribute to an organization’s success and well-being. This review is the basis for most elements that will appear in a strategic plan, including the organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats, actions, challenges, teamwork, change management, commitment, future trends and external forces. To gauge the company’s future direction and avoid roadblocks to success, independent reviews must be conducted.

21st Century Leadership…Lessons from Julie Payette | You're Not.

You're Not the Boss of Me

Back on Earth, the notion of diversity, for many of us, tends to stop at gender or ethnicity. The point that particularly struck a chord with me was about embracing our diversity rather than grudgingly accommodating it. Reply Gwyn Teatro October 16, 2010 at 12:51 am Cherry, you have succinctly described what I think embracing diversity is about. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

The Making of Legends

Strategy Driven

I conducted independent performance reviews of many. I served on boards of directors, search committees, awards panels, review boards and task forces for many. Diversity of society is reflected in service. I have written several books, on business, entertainment, history and pop culture. The Legends series is an amalgamation of all of them.

Why Great Employees Leave “Great Cultures”

Harvard Business

A place to start is by reviewing the behaviors, systems, and practices in place in your company. This moves us away from the tendency to hire people who think the same and towards a company built on diversity of backgrounds, perspectives, and ideas that complement culture while also enriching it. How often are they reviewed? What should managers talk about in performance reviews? Dragan Todorovic/Getty Images. “We have a great culture.”

To Be A Better Leader

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

Leadership & The Value Of An Inquiring Mind

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

Managing a Data Science Team

Harvard Business

Great management means caring about your team members, connecting their work to the business, and designing diverse, resilient, high-performing teams. Be transparent with the good and the bad during the entire process, from recruiting, to onboarding, to the day-to-day, to performance reviews, and when discussing the team’s, department’s and organization’s strategy. This is why it is important to prioritize diversity.

Failure, the Other “F” Word | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Workplace Democracy – A Genie in A Bottle The Dreaded Performance Review → July 6, 2009 · 9:36 pm ↓ Jump to Comments Failure, the Other “F&# Word Failure. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

My Next Beginning…A Reflection on Change

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck. You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← Becoming a leader…Shifting the Balance of Power.

The Practical Gift of Humility | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

7 Responses to The Practical Gift of Humility Pingback: Tweets that mention The Practical Gift of Humility « You’re Not the Boss of Me -- Topsy.com Pingback: Ego: The Biggest Threat to Employee Engagement « Morale at Work: The Performance Connection David Bowles July 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm Gwen I really liked this and linked to it in a blog I wrote today on ego and engagement at work: [link] I hope you enjoy it!

The Language of Leadership in the 21st Century. | You're Not the.

You're Not the Boss of Me

Diversity is about achieving a real appreciation for the heterogeneous nature of the world and it’s people. To me, embracing diversity means appreciating, understanding, valuing and using our differences to enhance the work and create something greater than we might otherwise do by behaving divisively and out of ignorance or fear. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

Three Key Elements for Making Change Happen | You're Not the Boss.

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← To Lead is also to Follow The Power of Diversity → March 2, 2009 · 1:00 am ↓ Jump to Comments Three Key Elements for Making Change Happen Looking for a way of effecting change and getting people into action? Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

The Story of a Great Leader | You're Not the Boss of Me

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.

Message to New Leaders – Bring Your Courage to Work

You're Not the Boss of Me

I think it might be worth the repeat performance. Jobs are eliminated or people don’t perform as expected and someone has to deliver the bad news. She was not performing well and it seemed that she, and the job to which she was assigned, simply did not fit. Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink.

When Change Hits “Upside the Head”

You're Not the Boss of Me

You’re Not the Boss of Me Skip to content Home About Me About This Blog ← The Performance Review & Some Ugly Truths Casual Conversation in the Workplace…Something to Talk About → October 20, 2009 · 11:21 pm ↓ Jump to Comments When Change Hits “Upside the Head” Change. This post was selected as one of the five best independent business blog posts of the week in my Three Star Leadership Midweek Review of the Business Blogs.

Know Thyself - Part I

You're Not the Boss of Me

Announces Social Media, Branding & Diversity Strategies" by @ bizshrink. Leadership News LeadershipNews: Check out Great Leadership by Dan blog post on new CBS show "Undercover Boss" [link] LeadershipNews: An insightful post on new research showing that companies' sustained high performance may simply be luck.